Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

Cambridge Who's Who - MAIL FRAUD

Ya know, sometimes I am really glad I am a cynical bitch who NEVER takes anything at face value, because the old adage "If it's too good to be true, it probably is..."

Today in the Mail I received a letter on quite professional looking stationary with a "No postage necessary" reply envelope for responses etc... and upon reading the letter which says: (Typed Verbatim including their exact punctuation and use of bold and italics)



Dear Dana,

You were recently appointed as a biographical candidate to represent Louisville, KY in the 2009/2010 online Cambridge Who's Who Resistry among Executives and Professionals.

We are please to inform you that on April 28, 2009, your candidacy was approved. Your prompt response is needed to ensure your correct professional information. For accuracy purposes, please be sure to visit your personal website to verify your biographical information at:

LINK WITHHELD (It was a www.yournameheretypeurl)

If you do not have internet access, please fill out and return the enclosed reply card by May 27, 2009. We provided the postage for your convenience.

The office of the Managing Director appoints individuals based upon a candidate's current position, and usually with information obtained from researched executive and professional listings. The Director thinks that you may make an interesting biographical subject, as individual achievement is what Cambridge Who's Who is all about.

Upon final confirmation, you will be listed among thousands of accomplished individuals in the Cambridge Who's Who Registry. Remember, there is no cost included.

On behalf of the Managing Director, we look forward to your appearance in this year's edition. Best wishes for continued success.


M. Foster (With image ready signature, not a real one)
Editor in Chief


My first thought?.... Riiiiiiiiiiiiight. here is never a NO COST involved letter like this so I went right to Google rather than the provided link, because I do not trust arbitrary links in e-mails, why the fuck would I trust one in a letter?

My second thought? Why? Who would use this registry? My customers certainly wouldn't. Why would I want to be on a list of other people that can put OWNER, PRESIDENT, ETC.. on a business card? Seems like nothing more than an a silly ego stroke list to me and I don't need it thanks.... Seemed a rather egotistical thing to do actually and extremely pointless. However, I wanted to confirm my hunches where sound and went to the computer and pulled up my browser....

Sure enough, about six or seven Google searches down the page after the actual Cambridge Pages come up on the search, you find dozens and more links about Scams, fakes and you guessed it... FRAUD... They will eventually ask you from anywhere to $100 - $1000 bucks to include you on this bogus registry. Even though the letter CLEARLY states otherwise.

I can always smell a rotten tuna, and this one sure stank before I ever opened the envelope! Hello, Mr. Shredder, are you hungry boy?

Goodbye Scam letter, and heads up to my friends don't fall for this sort of bullshit. Google is so your FRIEND.


( 3 comments — Leave a comment )
May. 7th, 2009 08:47 pm (UTC)
Reminds me of that 'Fandom Wiki' that uses bots to grab info from ff.net and repost it, creating fandom bios so that the website designer can sell advertising to parties interested in fandom markets, way to lame.
May. 18th, 2009 02:40 pm (UTC)
I just got this EXACT letter today. Except my name is in the hoity toity internet address. Same dates. Same crap. I too Googled "Who's Who Fraud" because I think this is odd. Your blog came up as one of the top results.

The funny thing - I love how they want to nominate me to this prestigious directory of "Executive & Professional Women." - I'm a stay-at-home mom and haven't had a paying job in over 3 years! I'm really good at wiping my kids' butts, picking up toys & making macaroni & cheese. It's about time someone wants to give me credit for this! ha ha ha!!!
May. 18th, 2009 08:15 pm (UTC)
Re: Thanks!
Well I'm glad I could help, one less person scammed. :)
( 3 comments — Leave a comment )

Latest Month

June 2013


Page Summary

Powered by LiveJournal.com
Designed by Ideacodes